Top of page

Our staff

Meet the team at Albert Street Uniting Church.

Blank profile picture

Rev Dr Peter Hobson
Superintendent Minister 

Rev Dr Peter Hobson is the Superintendent Minister at Wesley Mission Queensland Albert Street Uniting Church. Over the years Peter has worked as a full-time musician and an audio technician, a youth worker and a congregational minister. He has also served as a chaplain at high school, at university and through community care; and he has taught Theology, Ethics, Biblical Studies, Pastoral Care and the Practice of Ministry in churches, schools and universities. In 2014, he completed a PhD on Hermeneutics, Discipleship and Narrative Theology.

Peter joined the team at Albert Street in July 2018.
Blank profile picture

Rev Mel Wheeley
Congregational Minister

Our Congregational Minister is Rev Mel Wheeley and she is a Ordained Minister of the Word. Previous ministry includes project worker at Synod Office; Ministry Placements at Moggill Uniting Church and Beenleigh Region Uniting Church; Scripture Union Chaplaincy; Wesley Meal Coordinator; Youth Worker for at Risk Youth. Put simply, Mel’s passion is to love God, herself and others well (she believes it is hard to love others well, if you don’t first love yourself). Mel loves listening for God and partnering with the Spirit of God already at work in and around us.

Melanie joined the Ministry team in November 2020.

Blank profile picture

Tye Shepherd
Wesley House Building Manager

Tye manages Wesley Mission Queensland’s only commercial building – Wesley House. Wesley House is a boutique, five-star Greenstar rated building completed in 2009.  Within are two venues for public hire: The Burnett Room (located on the ground floor), and Bellview9 (level 9 rooftop terrace). Tye has a background and love of the performing arts, has worked in the community services sector, and is currently undertaking study to further his career in facilities management and business administration.

Tye can be found in the Church office Monday to Thursday, 8am – 3pm.

In this section